Hiring a qualified Virginia criminal defense attorney is key when working through the evidentiary process. There are a number of different circumstances and evidence-gathering protocols to follow to ensure that your case is handled with the utmost care and professionalism.
Virginia recognizes a number of enhancements to DUI charges in the state. These can range from driving with a child in the car to property damage and additional considerations under “zero tolerance” if the driver is under 21 years of age.
Virginia has a points-based driving system that docks points for those convicted of driving-related offenses. DUI is a six-point deduction while a surprising number of offenses count for three and four-point deductions as well.
The cost of your insurance alone could go up by an average of $526 after a Virginia DUI conviction. The conviction will stay on your record for 11 years, during which time you’ll have all sorts of difficulties qualifying for insurance, employment, and other necessities.
There are plenty of costs and penalties that you could face upon a DUI charge. There are the criminal fines levied by the state, the physical and emotional costs and the legal costs that your attorney will charge to try to help you come to the best resolution to keep your freedom.
If charged with driving under the influence (DUI), you will worry about what a conviction means for your future. Besides the obvious worry about possible jail time or fines, you may wonder what a conviction will do to your driving privileges. In Virginia, even this is your first DUI conviction, you could lose driving privileges for a […]
For most people facing charges of driving under the influence (DUI), the assumption is that a breathalyzer test is definitive and inadmissible in court. If your test shows you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) greater than the legal limit, you may assume there’s nothing you can do to fight this. However, an experienced attorney […]