In many cases, a DUI conviction can be the single largest trigger for an increase in your auto insurance rates – more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault incident. The average rate increase is in the neighborhood of 52%, meaning in an example of a $1,005 annual policy, you’ll be paying $1,531 for the same coverage.
How Long Will a Virginia DUI Stay On My Insurance Record?
The conviction will stay on your record for 11 years. Additionally, the Virginia DMV will assign “demerit points” to your driving record relative to the severity of the conviction. A DUI is valued at six demerit points. All demerit points stay on your record for two years. If you tally 18 demerit points in 12 months (or 24 points in 24 months), your driving license will be suspended for 90 days. You’ll also have to complete a driver improvement clinic, which will take off five of those points and potentially lower your insurance rate.
What You Can Expect Over the 11-Year Record Period
You can expect to encounter employment and other difficulties during the time period. If the DUI is your first offense, it’s typically tried as a Class 1 misdemeanor. Subsequent DUIs could lead to felonies, which triggers additional difficulties related to employment and general finances.
Of course, these difficulties could spur you to find alternative modes of transportation if owning and insuring a vehicle becomes too expensive.
Insurance is just one of many costs that can go up following a DUI conviction. This doesn’t even take into account the emotional toll among other hits you’ll take for this on your criminal record. If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Virginia, it’s important to know what your rights are and how everything can affect your future and reputation. Call B.R. Hicks, P.C. today at (703) 354-4000 to learn more and schedule a free consultation.