Even if you’ve had just a couple of drinks, it’s worth considering what the total costs are of a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charge in Virginia before getting behind the wheel. What surprises many are the hidden costs of a DUI charge alongside the more common ones. Below is an outline of what you could expect to spend on a first, second, and third offense.
Criminal Penalties for a Virginia DUI
For a first offense, you can expect to pay a mandatory, minimum $250 fine. A second carries a $500 fine, and a third carries a $1,000 fine. These convictions also carry a driver’s license suspension, which, if you’re caught driving during the suspension period, will also carry another fine of at least $2,500.
Physical and Emotional Costs of a DUI
Next, depending on the severity and reoccurrence of the offenses, you’ll be looking at potential jail time and additional license suspensions. The loss of income and increased cost of other modes of transportation can easily run into thousands of dollars. The emotional toll of all of this is harder to calculate and could cost plenty in therapy, doctor’s appointments, and other counseling needed to get through the tough times ahead.
Legal Costs of a DUI
Of course, there’s also the legal fees involved with battling a DUI. While every attorney is different in their approach and cost, you can expect these fees to run into the thousands of dollars, especially if your case requires additional time and attention. These are fees you have to incur directly, and they can take time to pay off if you don’t have the resources to do so.
Given everything outlined above, the cost of a DUI can add up fast. Criminal penalties alone can run into the thousands without even thinking about the physical and emotional costs involved. If you’ve been accused of a DUI in Virginia, it’s important to know that you have rights and options open to you. Call B.R. Hicks, P.C. today at (703) 354-4000 to learn more and schedule a free consultation.